Dan Ditches Drink for Dryathlon

Further to the Dryathlon! post, we have our first ‘Dryathlete’ story – thanks Dan! We’d love to hear from more of you so please get in touch with your stories.

logo

Dan Diack, web/clerical assistant at Robert Gordon University (RGU), is taking part in the Dryathlon to raise funds for Cancer Research UK. By becoming a ‘Dryathlete’, he will not be allowed alcohol during January, and will join thousands of other participants in raising vital funds for the charity.

Dan (24) will keep a blog about how he is getting on so that you can read about his experiences and the health and financial benefits of an alcohol free January. Here is the first entry:

 

Week 1

I decided that I would sign up to do the Dryathlon as Cancer Research UK is a charity that is close to my heart. I lost my Mum to Cancer in 2011 and since then I have been donating to the charity, but I wanted to raise a bit more. I know how much pain and anguish cancer can cause, so I wanted to help raise funds to help the vital work that the charity does.
I also knew that taking a month off of alcohol would help my waistline as I wanted to lose some weight after the Christmas binge.

 

As I signed up, I set my initial fundraising target at £150. However, after I put a post on my Facebook page with my story and a link to my Just Giving page, I had smashed my target within the first 24 hours. I felt so proud and truly grateful for the money that family and friends had donated. Now the pressure was on!
As the bells edged ever nearer on New Years Eve, I knew the challenge was just a few minutes away. I enjoyed my last bottle of beer and as the bells chimed, my next order was a glass of water. Start as you mean to go on they say!

 

It was actually harder to stay off the alcohol during the afternoon of New Years Day than it was straight after the bells. The reason for this…Aberdeen had secured a 2-0 victory that put them top of the league for the first time in, well, a long time. A beer would have been a great way to celebrate but an ice cold glass of Diet Pepsi it was!
Later that same day, I could have done with a beer to drown my sorrows, my English team Chelsea had just been beaten 5-3 by their London rival Tottenham – not good, but another soft drink it was!

 

On Saturday morning, my Fundraising pack arrived in the post containing a donation card, a wristband, which is now worn with pride to show that I am a Dryathlele, posters, that are now up around my desk at work and ironically beermats, which are now used to hold my cuppa.
This week I started back at work after a week and a half off. To try and lose some weight I started taking soups for lunch and going out for lunchtime walks. It is only 20 minutes or so but it is good to go out, get some fresh air and stretch those legs.
I would like to thank everyone that has donated and supported my fundraising effort so far, it is hugely appreciated. Check back next week to see how week two of my Dryathlon went.

One thought on “Dan Ditches Drink for Dryathlon

  1. Pingback: Dan Ditches Drink for Dryathlon – Week 2 | rgufitforthefuture

Leave a Reply

